Welcome to the Ottawa Curling Club

  • Life Membership Nomination Committee

    We’re looking for a group of volunteers to select and recommend Life Members of the Ottawa Curling Club.

    Life Membership is the club's recognition of a member's sustained and exemplary contributions to our club and, to facilitate this year’s selection process, we’re keen to fill our Nomination Committee. The committee consists of at least three members and is responsible for soliciting and evaluating award nominees, as well as recommending up to two recipients for board approval. As a committee volunteer, your commitment is expected to begin in late January and continue through the end of March.

    If you’re interested, please contact Wesley Blight at wesblight@hotmail.com by January 12th.


  • Open Letter to the Ontario Curling Association

    To: Stephen Chenier, Executive Director, CurlON ; Dave Hutchinson, Event Coordinator, CurlON

    Cc: CurlON Board of Directors

    The Ottawa Curling Club expresses disappointment in the Ontario Curling Association’s decision regarding changes to the Tankard Playdowns announced December 5th.

    Although we acknowledge the Ontario Curling Association’s right to set competition rules, changing the terms of the Tankard Playdowns after the registration deadline had passed is not reflective of an organization dedicated to transparency and equity. This decision has prompted several teams to reconsider their participation in the playdown process, further reducing a provincial field that has been on a downward trend, and leaving additional teams to question their future involvement.

    We urge the Ontario Curling Association to acknowledge the inconvenience and frustration caused by this decision. We also suggest the Ontario Curling Association use this opportunity to explain how this experience will be used to continually improve the qualification structure in a timely manner in future years.

    Board of Directors

    Ottawa Curling Club

  • Dalal's Christmas Wish list

    The Winning Ticket # 0925161
    Claimed By Michel Leblanc and Bob Smith Congratulations

    Thank you everyone for all the support

  • Dalal's Christmas Wish

    Dalal Christmas Wish

  • A message to OCC Members and Guests

    *IMPORTANT - Please read*

    Now that we are a couple of months into the season, please review the following items ...some new and some as a reminder about the club!

    SLOW PLAY Your game is allotted 2 hours to play. Please review the ‘Some Rules Notes’ signs posted at either end of the curling rink or find it on our website here.

    ICE FACILITY Please give our Ice technicians space!  Do not go onto your sheet until it is ready.  A good rule of thumb is to wait until they clear the previous game score.

    BE NICE TO YOUR ICE!  The old proshop is now the coats and boots room. 

    Help keep the ice clean by removing your outdoor shoes in the room beside the washroom.  At the front entrance of the club there is a bench with complimentary shoe covers.  But feel free to bring in a pair of indoor shoes or slippers to keep over the season at the club. 

    NEED MORE ICE TIME? Need to reschedule your game? Want to practice? 

    You can book online Monday to Friday between 12 p.m. - 2 p.m. for 30 minute practice ice time slots.    

    Contact Dalal to book the available times below:

    9 a.m. to 11 a.m. (two sheets available)
    7 p.m. to 9 p.m. (one sheet available)

    9 p.m. to 11 p.m. (three sheets available)

    *remember to inform your league Convenor that a game will be rescheduled as soon as possible!

    MORE PARKING OPTIONS Parking at 226 Argyle property is now available after 4:30 p.m. on weeknights and all day/night on weekends.  However, never park in the first spot off of Argyle.  Check out our website for more details here.

    SMOKING Smoking must be 20 feet away from the back and front door.

    HUNGRY? Kitchen Hours are:

    Monday, Tuesday, Thursday from 5-9 p.m.

    Tuesday, Thursday from 12-1:30 p.m.

    Wednesday, Friday from 5-9:30 p.m.

    Saturday from 9:30 a.m. -1:30 p.m.

    Sunday from 4:30- 7:30 p.m.


    Please contact the Board directly.  All the contact information is updated on the website under ‘Members Only’ on the ‘Board of Directors’ tab.  Click here.


  • Susanne Rausch

    Susanne passed away peacefully on Friday, November 9th surrounded by loved ones having just celebrated her 89th birthday. Predeceased by her beloved husband Johann, her parents Joachim and Christine (Blaser) Stieb, her siblings Christine (Jakob) Schlarb, Karl (Katharina) Stieb, Heinrich (Theresa) Stieb, Theresa (Paul) Gerhard and Joachim (Eva) Stieb.

    Susie leaves behind her much loved daughter Heidi, her chosen children Maciek, Charmaine and being Oma to sweet Norah. Susie was the favourite aunt and cousin to a large extended family and has kept them all close to her heart, particularly during the last few months. She has been the ‘cool’ aunt, a mentor, a confidant, the rock and the glue for the many generations and for many friends. She left this world comforted in knowing that her daughter is surrounded by many kinds of family, all who love both of them very much.

    Susanne has had a life filled with challenges and many silver linings.

    She had an idyllic childhood in Jugoslavia before being forced to flee her home with advancing Russian forces eventually establishing a new life in Germany. A vacation to Canada led to a chance meeting with her love, Johann, enticing her to move to another new country.

    Another challenge met: she mastered the English language. Love gave her a daughter, the apple of her eye. Heidi was a joy and a challenge. Her personality helped her form wonderful friendships with many, particularly with her neighbours on Tweed Avenue and on White Lake.

    Heidi would like to thank all those who spent time with her mother over the last few months, shared memories, had meaningful visits and helped both of them through this difficult time.

    Friends are invited to Beechwood, Funeral, Cemetery & Cremation Services, 280 Beechwood Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario on Tuesday, November 13th from 5-8 pm. A visitation will also be held at Martin Luther Church, 933 Smyth Road, Ottawa, Ontario on Wednesday November 14th from 10am, followed by a Celebration of Life 11am. A gathering will follow.

    Private interment will be held at a later date.



  • Going Away Shindig for PJ Vankoughnett & Randy Olson

    Our friends are packing up and heading off for an adventurous retirement! Join us at the Ottawa Curling Club on Saturday, November 17 from 4:00 p.m. until the wee hours!
    Curling Ice for all interested from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
    Foods and bevies to follow!
    All are welcome!!!
    Please email Dalal to confirm prior to November 10th if you want to curl. If you don’t want to curl, just come to have some drinks!

    Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people standing and outdoor
  • John Whitaker - OCC Volunteer of the Year

    This is long overdue... if you haven't heard, the OCC's Volunteer of the Year award was given to John Whitaker at this year's AGM. He is a very special man and we are so lucky to have him at our club. We love you, John! ❤️

    John Whitaker - Volunteer of Year

© Ottawa Curling Club 2019